Tulips

There’s no chance of getting out to look for the type of ‘light on water’ shots I’d have liked for today’s Wide Wednesday challenge. I’m still largely confined to base, but in any case patches of sunshine are few and far between. 

Instead, it’s a case of more flower photography, this time indoor. My birthday flowers are still hanging on - just - and today it’s the turn little white tulips from my spring bouquet featured at the end of March. Of course, we all know just how interesting dead tulips are, so they make a useful subject. There’s a solo performer with a tiny blush of pink leaching out to the edges of a petal ( now in extras) then a pair bowing their heads in synchronicity, papery bonnets covering heads, skirts both draped and curling up coquettishly (best large on black) 

Thanks so much for your kind comments on yesterday’s blip and on my health. It’s been a better day today, thank goodness. My strategy is to try to beat the phone queue for the surgery - and amazingly I manage to be first in line. After completing the receptionist’s interrogation - yes, I know she’s only doing her job, but discussing fairly intimate medical details is not ideal - I’m told I might - just might - get a call back some time today, but if not, hopefully it will be tomorrow. Tearfully, I stress the urgency; getting medical care is both frustrating and humiliating. 

It must have worked, as within an hour or so I get a triage call from a nurse, who soon realises she’s dealing with a mad woman whose symptoms clearly are beyond her, and - amazingly - finds me an actual physical appointment with a doctor! 

I remember fondly - as I’m sure you do - the days of seeing a GP who knew both you and your medical history; our surgery has only locums. Still the one I see is excellent and thorough - and it’s a relief to actually discuss my worries even though there’s little she can do but prescribe much-needed antibiotics.

And to add to this more positive day, I get an appointment for the ENT Clinic next month. What ears, nose and throat have to do with all my symptoms is beyond me, but apparently it’s an important element in the diagnosis of vasculitis. Yes, as you all agree, our NHS is broken, but at least today there are some signs of functioning fragments. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.