Penguin Droppings

By gen2

NHS Rainbow

This morning I had a clinic appointment at the local hospital.  Afterwards, I took a wander around looking for a blip - not just any blip, but one that might satisfy Ingeborg's theme of 'colour blocking' for Abstract Thursday.  Maybe something like my blip from May 5th 2018 might do?

Actually, when I looked at my images on the computer, a rainbow caught my eye and it was surrounded by blocks of regimented windows.  Maybe I could use that?

First, I masked off the rainbow window, then processed the rest to increase the colour and contrast.  It still looked a bit insipid so I stretched the colours to cover a broader range.

I liked the final result as every window was subtly different from its neighbours because the reflected light interacted with each room's contents.

The rainbow window acts as a focal point to return to as the eye wanders over its surroundings reading those subtleties.

The rectilinear grid is somewhat reminiscent of Damien Hirst's dot paintings and the orthogonal lines brought Piet Mondrian to mind.  Maybe it presents other suggestions to you.

Here it is then, like it or not, it is my entry for Abstract Thursday.


N.B. I have added an 'extra' to yesterday's blip to explain what it was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.