An Ottolenghi meal

 
When house guests  offer to cook for us I always  accept with alacrity. So it was a special treat this week when my sister-in-law , Fiona, proposed cooking some Yotam Ottolenghi dishes. 
 
 
This chef is famous for introducing Middle Eastern recipes  into the UK.
 
 
Once, in a spur of culinary enthusiasm, I invested in one of his  books only to give up in frustration partly because I could not find the ingredients, and the long preparation time.
 

Therefore I was curious to see how Fiona tackled the challenge.
 
Our local supermarket to my surprise stocked the ingredients, something I suspect they would not have done a few years ago before  Ottolenghi became one of the most famous chefs in the UK.
 
The end result, after several hours in the kitchen was a feast for the senses. 
 
 
The flavors were complex and layered, and the ingredients were all beautifully fresh and high quality. The meal included baked aubergines with yoghurt and pomegranates,  fried prawns,  crispy kale, bulgur wheat  followed by sweet and salty cheesecake with cherries. ( see extra photos)
 
 
However, it's worth noting that these recipes can be quite time-consuming and require a decent amount of cooking experience, but the end result is definitely worth the effort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.