In the forest

Early dart from school today, partly because my students who swore they were coming to coursework club this afternoon didn't turn up!

Went to Gorse Covert Mounds for a walk. I have lived within spitting distance of this woodland area for 13 years now, and I am ashamed to say that I have never been there before today. I actually went hunting for 'bunkers' because I am told by reliable sources that there are a couple in there. This area is built on the site of the Royal Ordnance factory that was based here in the 20th century.

This shot was taken in one of the little dell areas, but its obviously been butchered in fractilius - I liked the effect, as it reminded me a little of Henri Rousseau's style of painting, which then made me think of the massive mural that I painted on my Dads bedroom wall for my GCSE art project 20 years ago (with two tigers peering out from the plants, with bright white eyes - it was quite disturbing at night-time I am led to believe - the eyes peeked just over the headboard of the bed!)

I spent about an hour there and got a number of different photos...some of the woodland pond, and the statue that is on Junc 11 of M62 (much better vantage point from here!), a mother duck(or moorhen or other species!) and one of her ducklings and a number of shots of the most fantastically energetic dogs- link hereI have met in a while. The owner (I know you will be checking this!) of the dogs was a really friendly chap and I handed over my first Blipfoto card this evening to him so that he could find the link to the photos of his lovely dogs. I didn't ask your name - which was remiss of me - but I hope you can access the photos and it was lovely to chat to you!

Have spent all evening editing and uploading. I am currently uploading to the Woodland trust website as well.

Night all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.