Brass band

We wre back in town early this morning, before it was light, to continue photogaphing the Misteri di Trapani (see yesterday's blip for more information).  The bands were amazing - and very loud! The guy in my blip was the leader of one of the bands.  I saw him yesterday when he was walking backwards in front of the band, conducting them.  When I saw him today, he was walking in front of the band playing his trombone. He was a very imposing figure - tall, broad and with distinctive hair and beard. 

I returned to the church where the procession had started to watch the floats being returned.  When each float was finally lowered in the church the bearers became very emotional, hugging and congratulating each other and often crying openly.

As I said yesterday, this was an emotional event for observers as well as participants.

This is back blipped because the intensity of our activities over several days allowed no time for editing and posting images and then I had no internet access for a couple of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.