Lavs, Lane Cove National Park

Today my walking group did a circuit through Lane Cove National Park. This park is 10km from the Sydney CBD and accessible by public transport. A lot to like already.

The walk follows the Lane Cove River for most of the way. The river was clean but the bush was in parts displaced by invasive non natives. 

Parts of the river land were privately owned and one activity was market gardening. In 1910 they gave way to the construction of the Fairyland Pleasure Ground, a recreational area including rides for the children and a dance hall for the grown ups. It was serviced by a ferry and wharf for ease of access. Today nothing remains of it, but I could swear when M and I visited it maybe as long  as 20 years ago, there were wooden remnants of the foundations, enough to make my imagination run riot, cutting a rug with a bunny hug.

My photo is of the conveniences further along on the walk. They caught my eye because they are made of local sandstone and the women's and men's are widely separated. Further, the women's is framed by two eucalypts and the men's by two motor vehicles.

That's my day, tired but happy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.