The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

The dog of small things

After the big event of yesterday, it was a day of small things and little adventures. After all, these are what make up every day life for most of us. Small things of significance to us and little consequence to anyone else.

Late last night I bumped into a hedgehog in the garden, the first one I have seen for several years at home.

This morning as Gus and I descended off the Knott, two roe deer ran across our path, no more than 10 feet away.

Then as we dropped down onto the main bridleway, there was another collie stood opposite us. A lady collie. She and Gus took a bit of a liking to each other. I thought at first she was a stray, she had a collar but was unaccompanied. I'm guessing she was a working collie from Arnside Tower Farm. I had visions of her following us home, and wondered how we might manage another dog, particularly one with a bit of a wild temperament. But after a last sniff, she headed off back towards the farm.

I finished work at lunchtime, and took Gus up the Knott. On the path below us were two men herding the Highland cattle off the hill. I knew that the day was not long off when they would be moved, but I hadn't imagined it would leave me feeling quite so forlorn. I have so enjoyed their benign presence on the pasture this last couple of months.

Then I took Bob the cat to the vet for his annual boosters and checkup. He has been losing a bit of condition recently, and we have upped his rations to stem his weight loss. It transpires that he has a hyper-active thyroid. This was confirmed from a test that involved shaving his neck and taking blood from his jugular. He is 14 years old, and otherwise still healthy. We are now considering the options the vet gave us - an operation to remove it, tablets or a very special diet. A decision to be made next week.

And today is our wedding anniversary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.