Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Time travelling

This view hasn't changed since 1970, the last time I sat here on a grassy knoll (known to us kids as Fort Christopher - no idea why as I never asked the boys who named it!) and played for hours. In my mind's eye I could see my 13 yr old brother throwing stones and my 8 yr old sister playing with her new found friends. I loved to read and wander along the shore. We had campfires and walks in the hills, all in the peace and quiet. 

So that was then and this is now. I was thankful that old memories weren't trashed and fabulous new ones made. We took the little ferry over to Skye (all of 5 minutes, I reckon); the ferry's collies were very  helpful! Then an opportunity to see Glenelg from the other side and a slow, meandering drive across to the main road from Kyle of Lochalsh. We headed out to Armadale Castle to see the gardens but I have to say I was disappointed. But then it's early in the season and one of the gardeners said that last year they had been unable to do much as it had been exceptionally wet. So it wasn't just us that had the miserable summer. 

Another drive back over the Skye Bridge and then the north edge of Loch Alsh, down past Eilean Donan Castle and Loch Duich to the campsite. 

The weather has been warm and sunny ALL DAY, again (!); I've had to hand wash my thinner clothing as this really wasn't what I'd usually expect - we usually attract rubbish at stuff on our holidays ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.