StephenF

By StephenF

Back to nature

This is the Pavilion at the Clandon Wood Natural Burial Ground. My wife and I attended the memorial service there today for Bill, a near neighbour of ours, who died a few weeks ago. It's a lovely setting with the grasses allowed to develop as wildflower meadows, bordered by trees and hedges. Bill's  immediate family had attended the interment of his ashes there earlier and the service then became a celebration of Bill's 88 years of life. The tribute from his son was particularly eloquent and full of information about Bill's achievements and interests,  of which I knew very little. The choice of music was also excellent and reflected Bill's love of classical music. I came away wishing I had got to know him better, rather than just being on an occasional chat basis when we saw each other when out walking in the village. I also discovered that Bill's name was actually Michael, or Mike, but he had come to be called Bill as a child and that was how he was known to family and friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.