The Spring Shimmer

Rain came, eventually, thank God. We've been in a dry phase in central Pennsylvania, and every raindrop is appreciated. But before the rain, in the morning, I took my bike over to visit my favorite little pond in the Barrens.

I was photographing circles on the surface. Somehow it fascinates me, to watch the patterns and the beauty that is water. I want to see it all. I want to understand how it is made. I want to know more about its properties. I want to watch how it behaves. And then I looked up and saw the far end of the pond, and I sighed with happiness. And took about 60 more shots of what I saw there. Above is photo #1.

I don't know about you, but I find that the first photo and the final photo that I take in a set are often the best. There is a hopefulness about the first one; a wistfulness about the final one. And in between, all kinds of good stuff (one hopes).

I found lavenders and pinks and greens, and shapely reflections of trees. The colors are boosted, of course, as that's typically how I make my reflections abstract art shots: shoot it in vivid, add a bit more of whatever you want after uploading, to make it pretty. Does it surprise you at all to learn that some of my favorite artists were Impressionists? No? Not at all?

For some, paradise is a place far, far away. A place to go when you die, maybe. But for some of us who live a simpler life, paradise can be found in the smallest, quietest places. Like a vernal pond in the Barrens that is full of light and color and beauty. Looking for paradise, are you? I'm already there.

My soundtrack song is Lonestar, with I'm Already There.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.