Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

This Land

Did one of our favorite walks today…no rain  but so much wind!  This beach on Puget Sound is privately owned now by Expedia who have designed and taken care of it excellently.  The log with the Salish thunderbird (that’s what I think it is)  I “borrowed” from another area along this park.  To remind us that this land once belonged to this native people.  I liked how many people were out there in the wind.  

This photo is really an homage to Jerry N Uelsmann (1934-2022) a photographer I’d forgotten about til he was mentioned in one of the PS classes I’ve been watching.   So I went to my bookshelf and got the book I have , a 1973 Aperture Monograph,  and refreshed in my head why I liked him so long ago….He made montages decades before photoshop, in the darkroom, with many enlargers at once.  With some humor and mystery.    And he tributes 2 other photographers with this idea of combining photographs…so I had to look them up too.   Swedish Oscar Gustave Rejoinder ((1819-1875) who combined multiple prints seamlessly in the darkroom  and Henry Peach Robinson (1830-1901) who also did early montages.  Of course all these were black and white  But I had fun with that.  .  I wonder what they’d do with Photoshop today!   Google their photos if you are interested. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.