A good chat

Having seen that today was the only day forecast to have sunshine this week, I went off early to Woolley Wood, aiming to capture some slanting light among the trees and bluebells (extras).
The highlight of the morning, however, was a chance encounter with another early morning walker (main).  He saw me with the camera, and paused to exchange thoughts on how lovely the wood is looking, and its status and history as ancient woodland.
It turns out that he's a local resident who remembers playing in these woods as a young child; although we parted without exchanging names, I do know that he's 80 now, so that is 70+ years ago.  Like me, he gets preoccupied with the amount of litter in the wood, and we moved on from talking about this to the more general theme of protecting spaces like these, in and around congested cities.  "And it's about climate change now, isn't it?" he said. "We need to get the young ones caring about it."  It turns out that - in addition to litter-picking - he has written an online blog about the wood, featuring a story that he hopes might get children's attention. In this story, a shrew makes a home in a discarded beer can. That, however, becomes a trap, as after a while the shrew can't escape from the can.
He came across as quite a shy person, in his way, and I didn't ask for his name (or ask to take his portrait, though I did take a more anonymous shot). I'm hoping that we'll cross paths again, and that I'll have the chance to do both. Meanwhile, I need to find his blog post; he mentioned the name of the neighbourhood app where he posted it, so I'm hoping this won't be too hard.
Otherwise - thanks to everyone who left stars, hearts and nice comments about yesterday's image of Luca in the pipe maze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.