The Intercepteurs - at Salisbury LIVE 2013

Day Two of Salisbury Arts Festival Time of upload - 2 a.m.!

The Intercepteurs, one of Salisbury's brightest musical gems, with their new, original CD "Aunt Peggy Goes Motoring" are a very lively, dancey ska-reggae 5 piece outfit and are fronted by John Martin - here he jestfully pokes the front element of my fisheye lens in...!

I last Blipped the band at The Salisbury Music Awards where they ended that memorable night. I also snapped them at Salisbury Diamond Jubilee Day Celebrations.

John is a lecturer in photography at the local technical college and he loves my shots. Well, at least of him and his band!!, so that is quite an honour... He loves "showing off" and thoroughly promotes any shot that emphasises that.

Difficult shooting circumstances - a wall of dancing, jiving, bouncing happy people on one side and microphones, cables and very loud speaker stacks the other side. Not comfortable at all! And this was at the end of a whole evening of about a dozen pubs, all with their different bands and musicians. I almost uploaded a shot of the wonderfully entertaining and infectious 'Cleyhill Stompers' but this just had more clout. Simple as that, a shot needs impact!

Day One of the Festival had me shooting different bands in the same pubs as tonight and I could have easily Blipped a shot from The Smokin' Benny Brown Blues Band but decided to leave my Mayoral cycling shot as it was, to give the Councillor her space and many had viewed and commented on that Blip. Partly as I knew that I'd be uploading a band shot today. Benny used several of mine for the band's website and facebook profiles and that is always pleasing.

At the end of the day, it's good to be part of the rock'n'roll lifestyle, albeit for only for a few hours at the weekend. To be firm friends with these people and 'hang out' afterwards is always nice and makes one feel more youthful. True, they get good pics but I get their time, their friendship (& their CDs, for free, thanks John!) and they just love to look at themselves on the camera after. This makes the whole experience more than worthwhile and is why I do this sort of photography for nowt. Some things are beyond mere price.

Tomorrow, I'm photographing 'ParkLife', which runs from midday til 7pm. It's DJ's in a local park, playing cool vibes under the sunshine (!) It's not part of the Festival but something regular that I again, do, regularly, now. It's like a family affair and great to be a part of. Therefore, what with editing of the past two days and this tomorrow, means that my commenting might slip, a bit. I always say that one should take the most of any opportunities one can, especially when they're free, so make the most of them I will.

Being able to quickly grab the overall organiser of Salisbury Live (which continues next weekend, too) just before he goes on stage himself (as the lead singer of a punk Stranglers-type band, 'The Strugglers' and showing him pictures of The Cleyhill Stompers and telling him how YOU feel it's all going is quite an honour in itself.


Have a great rest of the Bank Holiday weekend, folks!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.