As seen by me...

By GrantR

Utterly livid!!!!!

I've been testing out all my lens over the last few nights, just to see which was sharpest etc. My main use is the Nikon 18-70 dx and it serves me very well but it could be a wee bit sharper. You can see the difference when I use the Sigma 70-200 f2.8 EX HSM, its ultra sharp but obviously is no good for landscape stuff.

So, I tried the general purpose lens I bought, the Sigma 28-300 Macro, and its gives some very nice results, while not the widest it is very sharp and gives a nice range. The Nikon 50mm f1.8 is well documented and is pin sharp. However, tonight I had a go with the kit lens that came with the D90, the 18-105 VR. I put a poiariser on as I would normally do with the 18-70 and off I went up the north side of the Crags. It was bloody steep and I am now knackered but what the hell, it was worth it for the views.

Or was it? No it bloody wasn't! 80 shots taken, 79 out of focus? WTF? This is the ONLY useable shot of the whole night! I've checked the camera settings and all looks ok. I done nothing different I wouldn't normally do either. The light was crap, fair enough but the D90 can and has handled worse with good results with the 18-70 on it. Worst was that they all looked ok on the preview but on download all utter crap!

So, that'll be the one and only outing for that crappy lens. Its going on Ebay in fact.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.