It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Rebel Rebel

I woke up early today. Without wifi and 3G I was initially challenged without any useful access to the Internet. But then, I picked up a random book from the shelf, a brief history of the Dinorwig hydro-electric power station. It may sound dreadfully boring but it wasn't....fascinating in fact. I wasn't up for the proposed agenda for the day though, a hill walk. I had really sore legs and felt drained. Coffee and cake, with a wee swim in the lake would have been my choice.

I was press-ganged though. After a wee bit yoga and some roller work, my mood lifted slightly but not enough to be enthusiastic. I was quiet, working on trying to be positive. We headed up towards the other side of the valley from Llanberis. First stop was an interesting quarry that was fenced off for safety. We climbed through a hole in the fence. It was safe. There was a tunnel in the corner of the quarry, leading to another one, far deeper, through the hill. Unfortunately, it had been filled to prevent intrepid explorers like us getting through.

Then it was onwards and upwards, getting colder but not unpleasantly so. My mood was lifting and my legs easing after yesterday's exertions. On reaching a fence with a sign saying 'keep out' we crossed it using the provided style. Not because we're rebellious, but the map stated that it was common land and the sign was intentionally erroneous. Lunch was had in a quarry and then we headed back down the hill, with Rosemary's amazing navigation skills finding the 'official' path across the heather festooned boggy terrain. Unfortunately, my feet didn't avoid getting submerged in the cold peaty water. Gahhh.

I was starting to tire as we hit the main road. Rosemary's dad also developed a weird sidewards stoop, so we were pleased to reach the car after the short 4 hour saunter in hills and too late for coffee and cake. Tomorrow is a more energetic day, a swim in Padarn followed by a hike to see an exciting hill fort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.