Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Ebor

My May Day bank holiday excursion took me, via the Coastliner bus from Leeds, to the edge of York at Copmanthorpe, from where I followed six miles of the Ebor Way back to Tadcaster.  

Most of the route follows the line of the Calcaria-Eboracum Roman road, including this stretch south of Catterton which is known as “The Old Street.” Apparently there are some parts where you can discern the camber of the Roman road but I don’t have the expert eye. 

In the sunny spells there were a few butterflies, mainly Orange-tip but also my first Brimstone of the year, Peacock, Small Tortoiseshell and Speckled Wood. There were Skylark in some of the fields along the way. A nicely kept milestone welcomed me to the edge of Tadcaster (extra).

In town there was another local cup final awaiting me, this time the Barkston Ash District FA Challenge Cup (extra) Barkston Ash is the name of one of the old wapentakes of the West Riding and these days covers roughly the triangle between Selby, Tadcaster and Garforth. Contesting the final were Malt Shovel FC, a Selby team, and Aberford Albion (extra). A fairly even game ended with Malt Shovel claiming the cup with a 2-1 win.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.