In Praise of Local Libraries

I visited the little library in the town next to me.  It is a wonderful resource for the area as anyone can get a library card there.  It made me think of the library in my hometown which also had a fireplace and the children's rooms located downstairs.  Mom and I would go every Saturday to get books.  Later, in high school, I met my husband in the study rooms where kids went to do homework.  I've embedded a photo of it in the corner of this photo.  Thankfully, there are no book banning issues here.  I am so glad I live in Maine.  I'm reading a good book right now, The Last Heir to Blackwood Library by Hester Fox.  It is a bit of a gothic romance with the flavor of Edgar Allan Poe.

Gift#123: good books, local libraries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.