Bankside bones

While unpacking my bags this morning after returning from London yesterday I found some London souvenirs.

Last week I walked back from Providence Square in Bermondsey, under Tower Bridge Road and along the South Bank, very popular with tourists, especially the Selfie Brigade. I've always thought how boring it must be for friends and family when globe-trotting youngsters return home to show their photographs, all of which have the same face in them.  OK, I'm probably exaggerating, but that's what it seems like to me!

Anyway, along beside the Tate Modern (old Bankside power station) there's a gate in the fence which leads down some steps to the river. There's a lovely little beach of golden sand, which looks rather artificial, where the gravelly shore is exposed when the tide goes out. Searching along the waterline I found these four bones, probably cow bones. I found some a while ago on the north bank of the Thames which the Natural History Museum told me were cow bones - very old but not valuable, as there are plenty of them. 

Spent some time going through emails and photographs today - a great number of the latter to look through!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.