Daunti's world

By daunti

“Don’t make me cross the bridge” …

In our Florida home we live in between two beautiful huge bodies of water, the Indian River and the Ocean. We use this saying, "Don't make me go over the bridge” because we don't want to cross the bridge and have to go to the mainland. Everything, mostly beauty is on the island and also is everything we need. When we are there for the winter I can seriously count the time we cross over the bridge on one hand. Well this morning this saying had a completely different meaning. The pass few days we have been taking our time heading north which is our summer home, doing a little sight seeing and visiting some of our favorite places taking a week to get home. As we were continuing to traveling up the coast we have to travel over this bridge called the Chesapeake bay bridge and tunnel. This bridge and tunnel thing is 17.6 miles long from shore to shore. I am not a fan of bridges to begin with and this one totally freaks me out. It’s a bridge, then a tunnel, then a bridge, then another tunnel, then ends with a tall bridge and there are huge ships out on its waters the reason why they have the two tunnels so the huge ships can get to the other side. Just the thought of one of those huge ships crossing over on the top of the water while we are in the tunnel gives me anxiety! The first time we had to venture over this bridge my husband didn’t tell me how long it was. I had no idea of the magnitude of this thing. All I could see forever and ever and after we came out of the two different tunnels was more water and not land. Well today I knew we needed to cross over the bridge to get to where we were going and I kept thinking in my head, “Please don’t make me cross over the bridge,” not a saying … but really meaning it. But as usually we got to the other side and all is well in the world again! I know better not to fear …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.