MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Controversial Coronation Quiche

The last time I double podded broad beans was when I was helping my son make a salad to take to a team-building weekend when he was working as a drugs rep soon after leaving uni. It's a bit of a faff but they're like shiny green jewels when the testa is removed. I'm sure Jacob Rees-Mogg would like them prepared this way. :) Strange that broad beans were chosen as they aren't in season.

The French aren't happy as they say the dish is a flan not a quiche.

The pastry is made using butter and lard which means that the dish isn't suitable for Muslims. My granny used to make wonderful pastry with half marge and half lard. A woman in the village, who used to buy flowers for the church from us, made mince pies using lard which my children loved.

I enjoyed including tarragon. The last time I used it was in retro Steak Diane which I made for the family on MrQ's and my Golden Wedding in 2020.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.