There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

The Return of the Lady Greensleeves <3

First, thank you all for your kind remarks on yesterday's posting. Your love and concern are so much appreciated. We send love right back!

We've had a week of weird weather, but I knew that amidst all of it, some tiny travelers were heading our way. It is the first week of May, and this is often when we see our first ruby-throated hummingbirds in central PA.

It was to become a warmer, sunnier day, and I woke up with a feeling of Something Going To Happen. I told my husband I was filling the hummingbird feeder because I thought they'd be arriving soon.

Even before my walk, I heated up some water, stirred in the sugar, let it cool. With the mix still a bit warm, I filled the feeder, walked out onto the deck, hung it from the clothesline. There. NOW we're ready.

After my walk, I was in the yard going mano a mano with the garlic mustard, which is invasive and stinky. I can't tell you how many quality hours I've spent with the stuff, but let's just call it this and be done: LOTS. Oh, and there's more. So. Much. More. *sigh*

I was sitting at the kitchen table after that enjoying a late lunch with my husband, when I looked out the window. "THEY'RE HERE!!!" I practically shouted, as I saw a tiny, familiar, shiny, green shape go zipping by at top speed!

Her first visits to feed were fast and nervous. By later in the afternoon, she was spending longer periods of time there, and I got out my camera and sat by the deck door windows, where I took this shot and a bunch of others.

Of all of the milestones in a year, the day the hummingbirds come back is one of my favorites, for we absolutely adore these pretty little birds and they are the green jewels of our yard. The day when the hummingbirds return is the start of summer for me.

Welcome home, Lady Greensleeves!

I wanted a song for firsts, and here is a good late 70s tune: Foreigner, with Feels Like the First Time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.