A Coronation

Well, it had to be watched. Having never seen one in all my years it seemed a not unreasonable use of a half day. Of course, I understand lots of my pals are getting all stroppy about it. Gavin along the street has a “Not my King” poster in his window which is as much use as chanting “Maggie Maggie Maggie Out Out Out” ever was. Besides, having once been a committed anti-monarchist, I’m not quite so offended now. Norway, Sweden, Denmark, the Netherlands are all constitutional monarchies and not exactly the most undemocratic states in the world. A letter in today’s Guardian summed it up neatly for me: The merit of the monarchy. aside from the virtues and faults of individual monarchs, is that it enables us citizens to remain loyal to the state, as most of us are, while loathing the government, as many of us do. Quite so; President Salmond, or President Johnson, not my President.
So with that all said, we settled to watch, enjoy bacon rolls and then cream scones! So, how was it for you, MrP? Well, the spectacle was good, the music excellent but we needed more celebs in the TV coverage. Ant and Dec, Nick Cave - that was about it. And then.. Welby. My gawd, did he go on and on. Repetitious or what. It basically became his gig. Yes indeed, we get there’s a religious angle and old Chas would be on board with that, but it really needed a Danny Boyle to come in and edit it down and direct it all. 
Later I stepped over to the boatyard where poor SF was last in line to do his mast. Well short handed but we got there in the driving drizzle. Oh and a film, The Integrity of Joseph Chambers, which the SK raved about more than me, being a moral dilemma sort of thing. I’m more of an action man, eh?
PS only I will read this far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.