Crown Jewels

Not many subjects left to photograph for my personal coronation invitation challenge. I've decided to plump for a seven spot ladybird as it is unlikely that I will find a two spot. I captured the seven spot and a certain amount of coaxing with a soft paintbrush was needed to get it roughly where I wanted it. It then flew away home. I've captured it with a brooch by the Danish company Pilgrim and some fresh oak leaves and flowers.

I made notes yesterday as we watched the coronation and very much enjoyed reading about it in the newspaper this morning. I’ve decided to include some of my observations in this blip for my own information.

We did not see much of the quite dull-looking floral decorations designed by Shane Connolly. I was pleased, being a former flower grower, that all of the blooms were seasonal and grown in the UK. He said, “I don’t think we have lost anything I would want to have. Roses maybe.” The flowers were chosen to echo the colours in the Cosmati Pavement, which can be seen on the TV in my blip from the Coronation Day.

We were amused to see the drum horse Apollo walking sideways for a while. He was talent spotted by the Queen on a visit to Pembrokeshire in 2018 when she went for a ride in a cart pulled by him. Clare Balding said that the Princess Royal was the, “best rider on parade.” We greatly respect the Princess Royal and Clare Balding. We thought the blue trimming on the horses pulling the coach looked magnificent.

Bryn Terfel gave a masterful rendition of the Kyrie in Welsh. It reminded me of when our class at secondary school visited a Roman Catholic school and I heard the Kyrie there.

I wasn’t familiar with the Epistle to the Colossians which Prime Minister Rishi Sunak read.

Soprano Pretty Yende from South Africa, singing Sacred Fire by Sarah Glass, looked fantastic in a bright yellow gown with an enormous upstanding collar.

Carrie Johnson chose an unusual combination of black and navy for her outfit.

I don’t think Cherie Blair’s pastel pink cowl-necked dress flattered her shape.

Samantha Cameron, a fashion maven, wore a floral frock which matched the coronation invitation theme but I was surprised as the long floral dresses of last summer have given way to block colour this season.

Liz Truss, jiggling her breasts as usual, wore an orange Karen Millen dress with a pleated skirt. Exactly the same as one in yellow worn by The Princess of Wales at a previous event.

I love the cloak/caped look. President Biden’s granddaughter Finnegan and Queen Mathilde of Belgium looked wonderful in this style. Penny Mordaunt also wore this sort of design but hers was appropriately restrained and respectful in consideration of her role. We were very impressed by the way this woman carried herself. I’ve read that she has been doing special exercises to strengthen her arms so that she was able to hold that heavy sword perpendicular for so long. “The Penny is mightier than the sword” said Chris Bryant, the Labour MP.

We did not see the detail on the Queen’s gown on TV but I love that it features the royal couple’s rescue Jack Russells Beth and Bluebell. The Bruce Oldfield creation also has daisy chains, forget-me-nots, celandines, scarlet pimpernels, roses, thistles, daffodils and shamrock leaves.

My daughter and I had discussed the screen which concealed the moment when the King was anointed when its design was revealed. We love that it features a tree of life with birds and their nests. “All will be well and all manner of things shall be well” is embroidered on it.

What an amazing garment the Supertunica is. Sounds like an Italian sports car system. Its meaning is that the wearer, consecrated before the Almighty, serves God’s people.

We noticed the yellow gold of the Coronation Theatre carpet next to the blue of the choir. It was a “happy accident” not intended to represent the Ukrainian flag.

The Lord’s Prayer was said as I remember it.

The Archbishop of Canterbury said, “Service is love in action.”   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.