Bank Holiday To Forget

Whilst eating my breakfast this morning I checked my phone to see a missed call from my Dad. Always sets the alarm bells ringing. I called him and he said he still had the migraine-type visual disturbances and was very dizzy. He wanted me to cancel tomorrow's podiatry appointment  as he didn't feel well enough to attend. I asked if he wanted me to go over - he said No but I ended up getting Bri to run me over anyway as the symptoms sounded more alarming than just migraine, no matter how bad they can get.

When I arrived he suggested I call the community nurse service and they said he should be checked out in A&E.

That is where this photo was taken, and where we spent at least eight hours today. He had all kinds of tests, and they came to the conclusion that he had vertigo compounded by dehydration. He was given a saline drip and an injection, and finally I could call Brian to take him home.

The patients were kept supplied with tea, coffee and there was biscuits and sandwiches for them too. My Dad was given some gluten free toast and tomato soup after we told the staff that he has Coeliac disease and could not have what was supplied. Of course there was nothing for relatives, and the snacks machine was not working.

After we had taken my Dad home and I'd made him some supper and fed Princess I made Bri take me home via McDonalds as it was the only place open to get food. I was so hungry and thirsty - 
I'd had nothing since breakfast!

It could be a long, knackering week...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.