Ruby-throated ...

... hummingbird.  At long last!

Remember me telling you that we had seen our first hummer of the season on our feeder the day?  Well, we hadn't seen it again all week ....

Until today!  I went out to sit on the deck shortly before lunch when I turned my head toward the house.  And this is the sight that greeted me!  This is a lovely female ruby-throated hummingbird.  And to say I was glad to see her is an understatement!  Please have a look full screen.

After this sighting I repositioned myself in the yard facing the feeder with a better background ... and waited to see if she would come around again.  And I waited ... and waited.  

My wait finally paid off just when I was about to give up.  The gorgeous male RT hummingbird you see in the Extra photos was my reward.  Sorry for the feeder being in the shot ... but it's a HUMMER!  I will only assume that these two are a nesting pair.  The male will do his "job" and then leave the rest to the female.  Hopefully this will only be the start of our sightings.  Watch this space ...

Today's weather was absolutely gorgeous ... some would say too hot as the temps reached into the mid 80's.  But I loved it.  After supper found us walking at Housenick Memorial Park before we settled at home for the evening.   It was a lovely day all around. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.