MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Small Copper, Cuckoo Spit

Another lovely day bug hunting with Mishka. We found many of the usual subjects for the time of year but I was delighted to spot a small copper butterfly flitting about in the corner of the field where lots of buttercups grow. I haven't seen one of these striking little butterflies for the past couple of years. I chose my main shot as it includes cuckoo spit. I heard a cuckoo here for the first time in years yesterday. I drove my yellow Lotus Elan M100 into this area in 2007 so that I could take shots for the sales ad.

I spotted the fungus weevil in extras on a nettle. It's Platystomos albinus, the bird-dropping weevil. It feeds on the wood of fungus-infected deciduous trees and it is scarce/rare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.