There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Shrimp Fest / It Must Be Love

My mother-in-law's birthday was last week, and we promised we'd treat her to a shrimp feast, so we met her at the Altoona Red Lobster, which is the best one of those we know of in these parts. Their baked potatoes are particularly good, better than everybody else's. I took along a wrapped copy of my latest photo book as a birthday gift.

I wasn't sure I could make a good accounting of myself, but I did my best: I ordered the Endless Shrimp on their menu, which meant that for a mere $20, I could stuff as many shrimp in my face as possible! It comes with one side, and so of course, I picked a baked potato with butter and sour cream.

This was the first of several plates of shrimp. There are about a dozen grilled on a skewer and then maybe five of those Walt's favorite shrimp, which are huge and breaded and fried. I decided the Walt's were the tastiest, and so I asked for a few more orders of those. You'd be surprised how easily they went down! Come to Mama!

"I've never seen anybody eat so many shrimp!" my husband said later. And so I'll claim this as my personal best, the most shrimp I've ever eaten in one sitting, which was somewhere around 30 shrimp.

I have to admit that I saved my baked potato for later (and ate it around 9 p.m. that night) so that I'd have room for more shrimpers! Let me add that the cheddar bay biscuits were particularly excellent: so good it was hard to believe!

In other news, the rabbits in our yard have gone bonkers. They chase each other every evening, and they leap, and hop, and run. My husband called me out to the front porch to witness the highjinks, and it was amusing indeed. In the extras, you may see a shot of the rabbits leaping over each other. Bun-way airlines: we have liftoff!!!

I need two songs for my two images, and for the first, which is my delightful seafood feast, I've got Jimmy Buffett and the Zac Brown Band, with Son of a Son of a Sailor. (By the way, my husband is indeed the son of a World War II Navy veteran, so that at least makes him the son of a sailor.)

A friend says that the rabbits playing like this is typically a part of their mating ritual, so I'm going to go ahead and assume that's what's going on here. My soundtrack song for the randy bunnies is Don Williams, with It Must Be Love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.