WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Howtown

My alarm was set for seven but I woke up before, opened the skylight blind and saw more saw blue sky. Time to get up!

I was away by 7.30 and the roads were lovely and quiet - perfect for a mooch to my first climb from Watermillock. There were great views back to the mountains behind Hartsop where I’m staying - but, onwards now to Pooley Bridge. The hedgerows here were filled with garlic flowers which made me wonder what’s out at home. 

It didn’t take very long to get to Howtown where my final zigzags awaited. Cute little road, and had a chat with a very polite runner who patiently stayed behind me in his camper on the way up to the car park. 

In my head, I was going to catch the boat back to Glenridding but I just couldn’t justify it in the dry weather and my legs feeling OK. I also thought with half an hour to wait, I’d get quite chilly.  Said legs were pretty tired five miles down the road though but I made it back dry for a lunchtime feast and shower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.