Traveling with Margie

It was too hot for Margie to go outside with me today, so I improvised an entertainment for her in her own apartment.

I took my phone and the Bose external speaker Seth gave me a few years ago, and played Revival for Margie. She was amazed. Amazed that I have music on my phone, amazed that my phone can play music through that box that it isn’t even attached to, amazed at the quality of sound from the box (it is amazing!), amazed most of all by the beauty of Florence Price’s compositions. Margie lay back on her couch, closed her eyes, and followed the music with her left hand, laughing occasionally, humming now and then. At the end of the first movement, she opened her eyes. “Is there more?”

I said yes, there’s a lot more. 

“Oh, can I hear more of it? I’ve never heard anything like that,” she told me, delighted. “It’s taking me on a trip, it’s a whole long trip, to someplace I’ve never seen, but I love being there. Do you mind if I just listen some more?”

I said that’s why I brought it, and then I pulled out the book with a picture of Price on the cover. “What a beautiful woman. And she composed that music? Really?” Then, while the music was playing, I did a google image search on my phone for Michelle Cann, and touched Margie’s arm so she would open her eyes, and handed her glasses over, “This is the woman who is playing that music on the piano.” 

“Oh my god! She’s gorgeous. And she can play like that. And I’m listening to this woman play the piano, which I’m hearing like it’s right in this room. And the music she’s playing is by this other woman.” She touched the book. “Have I got that right? I have? I’m trying to get it all in my head, and it’s just so large and marvelous. This is a great day!” 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.