Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Watching out for the fat bulls of Bashan ...*

On this pale grey day, just a hint of drizzle in the afternoon air rather than proper rain, I don't think I stopped till I sat down after dinner. The shopping took place as usual, except that because I met people I was home rather late for breakfast (had it anyway); when I arrived at Morrison's car park there were maybe ten cars parked outside and when I left there were three times that number. After breakfast, and then coffee, I remembered that I had Intercessions to think about for Sunday and headed upstairs to the study. But the intercessions are as yet only an intention, for when I got there I remembered a survey I'd promised to complete for a researcher into Glasgow in the 50s/60s and that simply ate up the time till almost 2pm. That was when I'd remembered I was meeting Di at 3.15 and maybe ... lunch?

In the end, I was only five minutes late round at her place, only to be bundled into her car with not just two dogs (her own) but four, as she was dog-sitting for her son. And so it came about that I found myself marching/pottering up and down Blairmore and Strone Golf course in the company of four spaniels of varying temperament, from the old-lady can't-see-very-well-but-like-to-bring-up-the-rear King Charles (how appropriate!) to the two can't-be-let-off-the-lead-in-case-we-do-a-runner other kind of spaniels. Mercifully there was no-one else there except a random and rapidly disappearing deer, though I managed to drop a lead with which I'd been entrusted and we had to retrace our steps to retrieve it (it was purple; grass is green; it was visible) The dogs bathed in a ditch or were too fat to get into it, and there was much cat's cradle sort of activity with the expanding leads, which are of the devil ...

The birds were singing their heads off all around us, and the trees on the perimeter were full of scents in the still, damp air, and I took photos of the views of the firth and we talked, intermittently, when we weren't checking on the old lady, and it was at once strenuous (it's on a steepish hillside) and restful. We went back to Di's for some fruit tea and some more chat, and discovered that the owners of the spare dogs (and Di's husband) were still far from home (well - on The Other Side) when I taught Di how to locate them. 

Then it was home to finish off the survey and post it, do some Italian, cook dinner, eat same. Time to stop, now - but first, a reference to explain the title for those who don't belong to my tradition ...

*From Psalm 22: 
Many oxen are come about me; * fat bulls of Bashan close me in on every side....
and later:
 For many dogs are come about me, * and the council of the wicked layeth siege against me.


(Happily there was no sign of the council of the wicked either ...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.