Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Hawthorn

May is a beautiful month in England, we have hawthorn everywhere, bright buttercups, stitchwort, bugle, wild orchids...and it is supposedly warm. Well, it finally was warm today, the first truly summer's day of the year as there was no wind. I photographed so many wild flowers today, but in the end I chose the hawthorn as it is dominating the countryside at the moment.

I walked Xena quite early, no jacket needed, yay! Then back home for a cappuccino before going off to my weekly ladies golf clinic. When I arrived our coach said as it was such a beautiful day we were going out on the course today. There were only four of us and we played scramble, which is when we all tee off but then all play from where the best shot lands. I was delighted that in most cases it was my ball that we played, it seems that testing round of 9 holes that I played on Sunday helped me play rather well today with good drives and chipping. We all enjoyed it so much, that us four ladies have arranged to play a round of golf on Friday afternoon. For once I can come home and tell Gavin that I have golf arrangements, haha!

The painters have been in the house since yesterday. After the leaks from the roof were fixed, we had to wait for it to dry and now they are repainting where there is water damage. They are also repainting the gate and garage doors which need doing due to general wear and tear, but hopefully they should be finished by the end of the week. And all this flurry of maintenance has nothing to do with my sister's visit in 2.5 weeks time!

I finished watching Malpractice last night, it was an excellent series but had a disappointing non-ending. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.