The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The boy does not cook rice today

(I've been practicing Duolingo Portuguese). When I went to 'the boy's' flat to teach him English, he asked me if I liked to eat mashed potato ('the boy' is an Afghani refugee). I cautiously replied that I did, whereupon he told me that 'English people like to eat mashed potato and hot dogs and peas'.

'Do they?' I wondered, and eventually I realised he was talking about that good old cafe staple, bangers and mash!
He had bought potatoes, vegan hot dogs, peas, and vegan chicken burgers. For me. His bag of rice (above) was empty, because he hadn't been to Gloucester, so he had decided to cook me 'British food'. We discovered that we shop at the same 'ethnic' food shop in Barton Street, Gloucester. I told him I'm not English, but I'd cook him a Scottish meal some time. He says I must try Kabuli Pulao some time. It's a special rice dish.

We tried to do an English lesson, but his mental health is not good right now. I just have to roll with whatever is going on, and keep the conversation going. He has a support worker, and other people who help him. He showed me a school certificate, laminated, that he keeps in a special wooden folder. He was the top student in his final year, averaging 96% across all subjects. Life can turn on a sixpence/dime.

Eventually after a mega meal, I left and went to the Trinity Rooms, where there was rhubarb fool. Friends were there, and I walked down town with J. Bought some bird food and some 'school shoes' for work (I accidentally shopped myself for wearing shoes that violate the dress code, apparently, but it was quite funny because in the process the deputy manager revealed that she always wears shorts under a skirt, and a vest, even in a heatwave. I'm wondering if she belongs to a religion with underwear regulations).

Then we came home (I'd met up with CS at the market) and I went out to the cabin to read the book that I'd bought on B's stall. B is a stylish, diminutive Dutch woman who runs a publishing company, Holland Park Press. I read half the book in one sitting! Slept a bit too.

Now I have to change the bedding. It dried in record time after I washed it, such is the good weather. Didn't have dinner because I'm still full of vegan bangers and mash.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.