My day

By 59

Flower Sunday in Coffin Bay

I didn’t take many photos today. These lovely gum blossoms are in the caravan park. After flowering they have red capsules which turn to large hard brown seed pods. 

We drove 40km to the next town on the peninsula. North west of Port Lincoln. It is called Coffin Bay - named after Admiral Sir Isaac Coffin. He was born in Boston USA and joined the Royal Navy at 14. He was captain of his own ship at 22. I find it so strange having these out of the way places named after people from the past, on the other side of the world who probably never even came here. Coffin Bay is a small settlement on a network of bays, very sheltered. It must be a hive of activity in summer as most of the entertainment is linked to the water. They grow oysters here and they are exported to many places in Australia. I don’t swim and don’t eat oysters so it’s sort of wasted on me. I can enjoy the scenery though. We are surrounded by national parks and the wildlife comes into the caravan park. I saw heaps of emus here today. I’ll see if I can get some photos tomorrow.

We finally got our seafood lunch, fish and chips at the Peckish Pelican cafe. There was a row of banksias there and of course a hungry seagull. I’m not familiar with this variety of banksia, Banksia Man might be about to help. The trees are also not ones we get at home. More like the large flowered WA varieties. We are going to stay here another few days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.