An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Teeth melting...

A lovely, busy day with D's sister Ele and husband Kenny here for dinner, along my our niece Jen, nephew Andrew, his partner Nikki and our 4 year old great niece Esme.  Oh and Bonnie, their rescue greyhound :-)

I had planned to bake for them coming today but time ran away from me, so I had to rely on shop bought goodies instead.  No one was complaining though.  French Fancies for Esme, shortbread for David and Andrew, choc chip cookies for Kenny, Biscoff for Ele and caramel wafers for Jen and me. Oh and Jen arrived with strawberry tarts and cream filled iced doughnuts!  I think she needed the sugar after going to Radio 1's Big Weekend in Dundee with a group of pals yesterday.

Thankfully the weather turned out much better than forecast so we were able to sit out in the garden to drink coffee and put ourselves in a sugar coma!!

Poor Lola did everything to entice Bonnie to run about the garden with her and play, but Bonnie is a run like the wind for 20 seconds then sleep for 23 hours kinda girl. Typical greyhound. 

Late afternoon Andew, Ele and Jen took Esme into the pool.  She goes to swimming lessons every Monday and you can tell.  She is so confident jumping in, swimming underwater, floating on her back.  Such a good and important skill to learn as early as possible.

While they were occupied doing that and D and Kenny were talking golf, Nikki and I discussed her and Andrew's wedding, which will take place next July.  Everything is booked now, just some things to be finalised (eg menus and seating plan) but that will be decided nearer the time.  She showed me photos from her recent trip to try on wedding dresses.  Not giving away any secrets other than to say they were all stunning. They get married at Loch Lomond and I really hope the weather is lovely so they can get married outside.  The loch and Ben Lomond are such a stunning backdrop.

Pool session over, and with the temperature dropping we moved inside to have dinner.  I made the chicken pesto dish I made for friends a few weeks ago as it was such a hit, and it was a hit again tonight, with more requests for the recipe.  This time I didn't bother halving the chicken breasts and rolling them, I just pounded them flat and put the pesto, sundried tomatoes (I prefer sun-dried to the fresh tomatoes used in the recipe) and mozzarella on top and they were ready to go straight into the oven.

It's Kenny's sister's 70th next week so we're all meeting up again for her birthday dinner next Saturday in Dundee.  Seems like only months ago we were out celebrating her 60th!  Where has the decade gone?!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.