Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Common Blue

I woke up reasonably early for me so decided to head to Magdalen Hill Down near Winchester, a nature reserve managed by Butterfly Conservation.  It was a glorious morning but apart from some goldfinches and a brimstone I couldn't find any of the butterflies for which the site is renown,

I kept on walking, and before I knew it was in the centre of Winchester, so got a much needed coffee (and biscuit!) before heading back up the hill to the car via the Winnall Moors nature reserve, which was teeming with banded damoiselles.  As I walked back through the butterfly reserve I finally saw some more life, including this common blue which alighted for a moment on some cowslips. Other sightings across the day in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.