Two for joy

Many people know One For Sorrow, Two For Joy, the popular magpie nursery rhyme where the number of birds seen at any one time will determine whether you have bad luck or good luck.
Probably the most well known version recited is as follows:

One for sorrow,
Two for joy,
Three for a girl,
Four for a boy,
Five for silver,
Six for gold,
Seven for a secret,
Never to be told.

This pair was sitting on the dusty earth at the side of the Pollok Park car park. I expected them to fly off when I opened the car door but they sat long enough for me to get my camera from the boot of the car and take a quick pic.

The gardeners were very busy digging up the tulip bulbs and they kindly gave me a rather large goody bag.

The bank holiday is over and the kids are back in school ..... I don't envy them in this heat which is supposed to last till the end of next week. Today was the day for the park to be full of dogs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.