Adam's Images

By ajt

M.2

Work replaced my laptop when I was in Italy. I was able to buy the old one for a nominal fee. I ended up replacing the single 8 GiB RAM stick with two faster 16 GiB sticks taking the system to the maximum of 32 GiB as it was silly expensive to just add in a matching 8 GiB stick...  At the same time I took the this SC311 SATA 128 Gb SSD out and put in a faster 512 Gb one. It's a rubbish picture as I forgot to take it out of the plastic box before taking the picture, which has rather disfigured the image...!

My new/old laptop is now my fastest computer, it's got twice the RAM of my desktop, a way faster NVMe than any of the SATA SSDs in any other computer, and the most recent processor - which though a laptop one is still faster than the one in my desktop. The Intel graphics isn't as good as the Nvidia card on my desktop though - but as I don't really use fancy graphics that's not much of an issue. It boots into the latest version of Debian Linux 12 (aka Bookworm) that the splash screen has almost no time to splash! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.