Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

FLOWER FRIDAY

For some reason today, I’m feeling quite “down”, and I’m not looking for sympathy, but in the words of our younger son, “It is, what it is” and tomorrow is another day.

When I went out into the garden last evening, I saw that the new bed, where Mr. HCB used to grow his tromboncinos, but where he has now planted both hollyhocks and sweet peas, grown from seed, was doing well.  Although the sweet pea plants are still quite small, there was one stem with a pretty pink flower, so I decided to snip this off and bring it indoors to use as my Flower Friday shot today.  

I bought the little vase, which stands just three inches tall, sometime ago in a charity shop, but having discovered the last time I used it, that it leaks, I couldn’t bear to throw it away because it is so pretty, so I just put the sweet pea stem into the vase to take the photograph and then put it into a tiny cut glass vase that belonged to my Mum, which doesn’t leak, on my kitchen window to enjoy.  The perfume is wonderful, even from two tiny blooms.  

This made me realise that even if feel we aren’t doing much good in the world, and our efforts are small, we can still be that aroma of kindness around those we meet each day.

ANTHOPHOBIA 
An extreme, often irrational fear of flowers from “Anthos” the Greek word for flowers, while “Phobos” means fear or deep aversion. Someone with anthophobia may be afraid of any flower or a specific type and may fear getting stung by a bee hiding in the flower or of having an allergic reaction to a plant.

P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments for my AT shot yesterday.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.