Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

HWP Day 3 Banks to Twice Brewed Inn

I probably started walking at 9.15am and didn't get to the pub until 5pm. It wasn't all walking obviously, I had a couple of stops, plus lunch, and spent an hour at Birdoswald Roman Fort this morning. I really liked the short film that was showing, overlaying the landscape with the wall, it brought it to life for me. Then I stayed and watched "How to be Roman Soldier". There were quite a few children there, all wanting to take part, but it's half term of course. When I was young I wanted to be a Red Indian, which was later ditched after I'd read Swallows and Amazons and desperately wanted to be a pirate.

Gradually the higher sections of wall appeared in the distance, and eventually I was faced with having to get up them, then down, then up and repeat. I found it so hard... but find this evening that my nose is blocked and running and sneezing, which might explain it. I mean I know I'm a year older, plus half a stone heavier but....?

I arrived at Twice Brewed with an hour to spare before dinner, just enough time to sort myself out.

Food
Bacon, egg, black pudding, beans, mushrooms 
But I wasn't hungry so didn't eat it all
Toast and marmalade went down better
Scotch egg
Apple
Cookies
Double caramel Magnum
Chicken tarragon, mash, carrots, brocoli, cabbage
But not very hungry :-(

I'm amazed by my room, it's more of a suite and much better than we had last year. It's a very nice pub!

14.97 miles
1,940 feet elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.