Back to light

I am going to make a confession: I did something that was quite stupid. It's been a week from hell. A week of darkness.

I had heard of the term overtraining before, but until last week I had never experienced it. I have been working out a lot the last few months; running, gym, cycling, exercising and walking. Everyday one of those, at least.

I found this app on iPhone, Moves, that shows what you have been doing and for how long. It also show the records you make. So I thought I want to break a record at least once a week.

I did it, but last week's record came with a side effect: overtraining. Last week's Wednesday I went to the gym and thought, oh, now I'm in such a good shape that I will really push the tempo. The next night I woke up in the middle of the night in terrible pain: my muscles were just screaming. I hardly could sleep at all. The day after that I still didn't listen to the warning signs, I went walking. Thursday evening I started to shake like a leaf and my temperature went up very suddenly to 38°C. I felt really sick.

The fever stayed up, the next day I stayed in bed with the blinds pulled down. I'm quite sensitive to temperature, my head got fuzzy and my body felt so heavy. My whole body ached like crazy.

After the fever went down, I felt like I had been wrestling with a bear in some kind of brushwood in the darkness. I was completely drained.

Now I'm starting to come back to the light and life. This has been a strange experience. I have learnt a lot. First of all that I'm not 20 any more. I've had lots of time to meditate. Life is not a competition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.