Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

3079. Tangiers

We have had the most fabulous day in Tangiers…..we set off at 6:15am on a coach trip all the way down to Tarifa to catch the ferry to Tangiers.

We had a tour of the old town and lunch in the Kasbah followed by a most enjoyable trip to see a traditional pharmacy.  

I had such a laugh with the street sellers and even the shopkeepers.  I bought myself a gorgeous velvet embroidered traditional women’s kaftan in a beautiful soft green colour with gold embroidery.  The seller tried his hardest to get me to pay €150 for it but I told him I only had €50 on me and that was all I was prepared to pay.  I left the shop and said I wouldn’t pay more because that’s all I had.  It was well worth €50 as it was beautifully made.  The shop keeper followed me into the narrow streets and asked me to go back and he would do me a good deal, I said no initially as he kept insisting on more than I was prepared to pay, even asking my hubby to pay the difference!  Eventually he agreed and even after agreeing, he still asked for another €20 when I was paying, I said no and started to leave the shop.  He followed me and finally agreed the price so I now have a beautiful kaftan which is actually way too nice to wear as a dressing gown, it’s almost like an evening dress!  I will have to pay to get it shortened but once done it will be stunning.

The extras show the harbour buildings, (I got into trouble for taking photos here), some wee local camels which I declined a ride on, the pharmacy, the band at lunch and us in the restaurant.

It was a 13 hour day but well worth it, another country and a new continent ticked off our list!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.