Reasons to smile...

By Lauraiea

I wish I'd known....

Right enough I think I'd only want to be younger than ten. Or the age I am now. Skip out about 15 years. I didnt enjoy, on the whole, the teenage thing. Aspects of it were ace- I skivved off French and English with Misha, we bought lots of alcohol and hid it in her knicker drawer and the PE changing rooms, my school bags and in trees and bushes. I have a really clear memory of throwing up as we walked to school on course choice day one year and took our empty bottles to dump. I don't think we did anything unruly or disruptive to anyone else. Oh. I take that back. I remember coming home one night thinking my parents didn't have a clue I'd been drinking, going into the shower and knocking every single bottle of shampoo, conditioner, shower gel etc over and not being able to stop giggling.

But for the most part, I'd stick with under ten. When climbing and getting stuck on trees, swinging off swings and falling in ponds were the fun activities in my life. And brownie pack holiday. And playing. Just generally playing. And reading! I read so much as a kid. And thinking all grown ups were amazing generally. And boyzone! And the spice girls! And No Doubt! And Saturday mornings being out playing, coming in to a house with Erasure blaring or some other cheery music- like Morrissey "You're the One for me Fatty" or Devo. And a trip to Grangemouth shops (why?!). Meeting Betty and Dick as they wandered. Meeting lots of people I never knew names of but who knew me. Especially if I was with my grandma because she was some kind of local celebrity it seemed.

So yes. Don't grow up. Or do- but act your shoe size :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.