CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A moorhen runs across water lilies on Court lake

It was hot but there was a cooling wind. I stood at the water's edge at Frampton Court on a small promontory sticking out into the lake and surrounded by a large patch of water lilies.

My attention was mostly on the two pairs of oystercatchers that kept fly to and from the island, presumably catching food for their young. I could see two small oystercatchers at off moments in a distant opening on the island.

Damsel flies and dragonflies flitted amongst the 'flags' or yellow irises, often combining in a mating dance, sometimes in midair.

I've added an 'Extra' of a bundle between two swans on the far side of the lake. You can just see an egret standing separately in the reeds behind the other birds.

A hobby soared far above  the lake for some time, but I couldn't get a good picture today. In fact I had a strange day where many pictures I thought would be reasonable images turned out to be very poor. Something in my techniques and equipment is out of sync.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.