BGCoffee

By BGCoffee

Drive, Drive, Drive…Then This!

Today was the longest single driving day with nearly 370 miles or almost 600 km to cover to put us in close proximity to Calais. It was quite uneventful until we came within 3 miles of our campsite near Jumièges on the River Seine. Quite out of the blue, we were driving down the South side of the river when Tom Tom nochalantly chimed up “Take the Ferry”. Sure enough, just round the corner was a little car ferry and a line of cars waiting to cross over the river. But to our surprise and amazement, just at that very moment the Statsraad Lehmkuhl, a three masted barque was motoring towards us. We had to wait for it to pass and of course cameras and phones were out in abundance. Extra of L on the ferry.

After this excitement we headed the rest of the mile and half to the campsite right on the banks of the river. Had a salad dinner and enjoyed a short walk and look at the river.

Talking of Tom Tom - we have voice activated commands switched on so I don’t have to type when going along. However, he’s supposed to wake up and await commands at the phrase “Hello Tom Tom”. Try as I might he just ignores me and refuses to bite. However we were listening to 3 talks on the way and twice some random sentence had Tom Tom piping up, “I’m listening!” My response is not repeatable here but I cannot for the life of me work out why he will randomly respond to some voice on the car speakers but chooses to ignore my use of the correct phrase! Oh and his French accent is appalling!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.