In-between the seconds

By Lisalou

The borderline

I spent the day with my special needs kids, we are working on the notion of borders and boundaries.

We began a series of paintings in January using the palimpsest techniques. This enables them to write/erase/rewrite/correct their work without the idea of right and wrong. We then went on to discuss imposing a border, outside/inside etc.

Today was beautiful, a white line was added, a border between their two places ( for each child the place is different ) each place (= space) defined by a colour and a secret word.

The physical difference in each child afterwards was incredible. Their space was defined.

Today I did good.


I have little time at the moment, every year I say I will organize the end of year better and every year it is the same. I look at all my friends journals but do not have the time to comment. Sorry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.