Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Tern at Twyning

Walking on the banks of the River Avon this morning it was great to see a common tern fishing in the river. 

I'd been given the heads up by Hubs who had seen terns at this spot whilst having a pint at The Fleet a few days ago so opted to try out the opposite bank where there was a small jetty and a few families were launching paddle boards and the odd kayak. Along the bank were the usual fishing platforms and I tootled onto all of them to see what dragons were about near the water. There were a few banded demoiselles, scarce chasers and a solitary emperor but I enjoyed the tern best.

On getting home sitting by our own pond I was suddenly visited by a female emperor which started ovipositing. I couldn't believe my luck! We have had one emperor dragon emerge a few days ago and I missed the whole thing but have kept the larvae case which is huge. The lesson is to routinely check morning and night for activity in there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.