Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Eye to Eye

We’re back in Sychnant today - but it’s the wild, open area, not the reserve of yesterday - and thanks so much for your kind response to my little green beetle! 

The threatening sky stays relatively clear for a meditative walk. I can see two ponies grazing in the bracken as I make my way towards the lake, and  as I reach the path I find they have a foal with them, lying sleepily on the grass. 

It’s nearly five weeks since I last saw her, and she’s grown - still tiny, but filling out a little, somehow more confident and self aware. Largely ignored by the two adults, she has my full attention, as I have hers. I quietly sit down on the grass facing her, keeping both my distance and eye contact. 

Her mane is still a mop of curls, a far cry from the long and silky versions so typical of the adult Carneddau. Her dark eyes are framed by thick eyelashes,  long wispy outliers extending wildly, catching the light with beautiful abandon.  We sit looking at each other for some time, the only sounds coming from the munching adults and distant bird song. 

Eventually, she pushes herself up onto her feet, giving me once last glance over her shoulder before she joins the others. The spell is broken and I walk on to spend some more quiet time beside the lake. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.