David J. Rose

By djrose007

Capt Chavasse, Medical Corps MC, VC and Bar

This morning my brother bikers were a bit late getting up. So I told them I particularly wanted to find the grave of one of only three double VC recipients, Captain Chavasse.
I knew the address of the cemetery so set off alone and said I would see them at Ploegsteert.
I found it very easily, just off the road on the way to Popperinge.
As you can see, he has a double VC annotation as well as the Military Cross.
An incredibly brave, and kind man. The person that initially told me about him said he was the son of the Bishop of Liverpool.
In the trenches he would rub cream into soldiers suffering from Trench Foot, a task that would, more often than not, be given to a medic rather than a Captain doing it himself.
Worth looking up the name on the internet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.