Dakers

By Dakers

Conversations With Visitors

Pat and I are guiding at Hill of Tarvit today.

There is a steady stream of visitors and many are asking questions about the collections, especially pictures and books.

One lady was a little dismissive of The Library and the apparent paucity of books. I did explain that there are several areas in the house where are to be found. I also that the jewel in the family collection is to be found in the National Library of Scotland.

Amongst the collection is a first edition of The Origin of The Species. Another book is a signed first edition of ‘Gone With The Wind’. In between is a significant of books and papers on American History.

I did tell her how she could go and examine the collection in Edinburgh. She was very happy.

The Duck? Is a Chinese incense burner with a very haughty expression. I wonder when it was last used.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.