MikeWest

By MikeWest

Two Drop In

I heard the splash as two male mallards landed in the lake. I hadn't seen any mallards in quite some time. Then, over by the reeds I noticed the six ducklings with their mother which I had been watching over the last weeks.

I had thought they were blue winged teals on account of the blue flash on the mother's wing and felt it odd they were chaperoned by mallards. So I did a bit of research and discovered my error, that the ducklings and mother were mallards also. Why there were two males will be left to the imagination.

I corrected my entry for June 5th when I first noticed the ducklings. Female mallards have brown beaks, blue winged teals black, among other differences.

I can't remember where I heard the phrase "do drop in", I thought it might have been The Fast Show? Perhaps someone will remind me?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.